Spiffy’s mementoes

A Keepsake of Memories

MiSSiNg iN AcTiOn……NOT!~ 5 July, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grace @ 3:44 pm

Wow..it’s been like almost 2 weeks that i didn’t post anything. Felt like ages to me. Work has been tremendous..kay la..i might have exaggerated over there but nevertheless, my workload has been ‘never-ending’ for the past 2 weeks. Only today that i managed to take a breather.. Whew!~

I was over at Zewt‘s blog the other and stole some time to read up on his 6 month post of his journey in the blogosphere. When i first used the Internet, it was the hottest and hippest thing around the country. MIRC was the way to go..and so did ICQ. I would stay up till the wee hours of the morning to chat with people near and far. Canada, USA, Australia, Singapore, Malaysia… u name it. I’ve met people with whom I’ve stayed friends with..even until today but of course there were also crazy & rude people as well.

Then there came a period where there were cases of girls being tricked and duped by men over the Internet and if i’m not mistaken, articles all over the news asking girls and any online users to be careful when chatting with strangers online. By that time i was way over MIRC and ICQ. It was the start of MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger, and what not. Late night chats was over for me too. I rather sleep and meet the guy of my dreams in slumberland. Hahah.. I guess i was slowly growing up.

I started blogging in 2004. I was 21 that year. No one really knew i blogged. Probably a friend or two. I didn’t bother telling anyone either because blogging was not popular yet. 3 years down the road and I’ve had strangers coming to my blog, leaving me comments which I’ll always be grateful of and becoming friends! Now, this is something new..at least for people around me. Who would’ve thought that we can meet and make new friends in the blogosphere?? This are people that you’ve never met…whom you don’t even chat with, let alone have their contact numbers. Woww…! The new age MIRC and ICQ. ^_^

But, what amazes me is that…every blogger that I’ve come to know have been one of the nicest people around. Take the sexy Lyrical Lemongrass and ever bubbly Msiagirl for instance, i first met them during BC3 and forgive my ignorance, i didn’t even recognize them(thank God i go through Kenny‘s blog, if not malu all the way). After some short introductions, they kindly and happily allow me to tag along with them while waiting to go to “Readings” later in the day. Their kindness has touched my heart. Weirdly it didn’t occur to their mind that i might be some psycho girl that will stalk them later on..LOLzz..*I’m very normal btw. ;o)*

Kenny is another fellow blogger who has fast become a friend whom i know will be there if the need arises. *so far i didn’t kacau you too much, i hope. Heheh..* I still remembered the 1st time we met, it was at Lydia‘s Honk! Booktalk at Midvalley… being the ever charming gentleman that he is..he walked with me to the entrance where my friend was waiting for me after our chit-chatting session with Lydia and Eric. A small gesture, i agree but not many people are willing to do that. While we have not been seeing each other in a while now, I’m glad to have you as a friend. Thanks, dear…;o)

A sweet lady which have sent me a “Is everything alright? You haven’t been blogging in 2 weeks!” a couple of days ago is non other than, Chet. The sms came as a surprise as i didn’t think anyone would realized i haven’t been blogging for some time. Thanks for caring..you are a friend that I’ll always cherish. ^_^

Other bloggers like Argus(thanks for taking the trouble to send me the lovely postcard again!), Xeus(miss you! dah balik ke M’sia ke belum?), Lydia(hope to see u this month end), Zewt(Happy 6 mth anniversary again!), Eric(see you this month at BC ya!), QH(miss ur updates..^_^), TH(thanks for being a darl and dropping by my couz’s blog), last but not least, Kenny Sia for taking the trouble to send me a postcard all the way from Egypt. That really caught me by surprised as i didn’t expect you to read the mail i sent to you. You are a celebrity in the other side of the blogosphere and to take notice of my mail really mean a lot. You might never drop by my blog, but thanks a lot again.

My cousin, Ben, who’s always there for me to give advice and to knock some senses into me.. and whom i’ve managed to coax into creating an account in Blogger..have fun blogging ya! I certainly have fun reading them. You take care in Laos! =D

My main reason for writing this post is to give thanks to all the wonderful people which i’ve met through blogging and have become friends. Also a note to people who’re still sceptical about the virtual world. It is NOT that dangerous afterall…you just need to know where to go. The people that i’ve mentioned above explains it all.

Much love from me, *hugs*

~SpIffY~

 

15 Responses to “MiSSiNg iN AcTiOn……NOT!~”

  1. Argus Lou Says:

    Ooo… Spiff, guess u haven’t been stalked by me yet. Heh heh, OK, just kidding!

    Seriously though, what a sweet post. (And you’re most welcome re: the postcard.)

  2. zewt Says:

    woooaahh… a personal delivery from kennysia… u must be elated!!!

    those ICQ and MIRC days are gone… oh… i do miss those days!

  3. Chet Says:

    Good morning. You may be surprised to learn that I still use MIRC now and then, but not to chat, but rather to download stuff. 🙂

  4. msiagirl Says:

    hey sweetie! Don’t worry I knew who you were when you sat down by us ;)I’m really bad at posting anything snail mail so I won’t promise ya any postcards yet! But send me your address OK? Take care!

  5. Lyrical Lemongrass Says:

    Aar, you can stalk me anytime, dearie! 😛 Seriously though, we had fun that day, didn’t we? You’re right, the blogosphere seems less and less dangerous. The food bloggers have had makan sessions together so regularly, I see them more often than I see my own family. yikes.

  6. The Quiet Storm Says:

    hi ya Grace!
    I too have been away. Busy playing the field lol! Will update my blog soon before too long. I missed the last readings too. Did you attend it?How was it?

  7. gRaCe Says:

    Argus,
    Hahah…i dun mind being stalk by you. At least someone’s interested in stalking me. LOLzz..! ;o)

    Aww…thanks dear..I’m looking forward for our party in August. =D

    Zewt,
    You got that right dude! I was smiling all the way when i saw his postcard. Hahah.. Yep, they’re gone alright..i think my younger cousins dun even noe what’s MIRC if i ask them. *memories flooding back now*

    Chet,
    Morning, morning..ohh..kewl, i’ve heard of people using MIRC to download stuffs..is it faster, easier?

    msiagirl,
    Pey dear..Lucky u knew. I can be very blur at times one. Heheh… aww, gosh…thanks so much dearie! Really appreciated it..=D *hopping to my gmail to send email*

    LL,
    When i have more time on my hand then i’ll try to stalk you. Heheh… ;o)

    Yep, we definitely had loads of fun. It’s as tho we were old friends meeting up after a long time, eh? Hahah..yep, sometimes i see my blogger mates more than i see my real life friends. Ooops..! =p

  8. gRaCe Says:

    Heyy…QS!
    No la..i din attend the last readings. I had sumthin on on the next day so figured i better stay at home for at least one day, so my mum wouldn’t nag me. Heheh.. ;o)

  9. Argus Lou Says:

    Spiff & Lyrical, you gals are so funny – a stalk of lemongrass stalking Spiffy gracefully.

    Er, by the way, I’ve no idea what MIRC is. I think I missed the boat from the start. Only caught it at gmail chat. *face turning red*

  10. gRaCe Says:

    Argus,
    Hahah…i like the way you make use of the words dear. No worries, MIRC is a shareware Internet Relay Chat that is almost similar to MSN Messenger,Yahoo Messenger, even Gtalk..but u have to join a chatroom in order to chat with others. Sumthin like tht ler..it’s so long ago..haha..;o)

  11. Lyrical Lemongrass Says:

    Well, I’m hardly a stalk or a stork, that’s for sure!! 😛 Err, i thot it was spiffy stalking a stalk of lemongrass? hehe.

    I remember MIRC. So exciting being able to chat to ppl overseas then, hor. Amazing how technology’s evolved.

  12. gRaCe Says:

    LL,
    Same here, dear..same here. I’m not a stork either. Now, where hav i heard that phrase before.. Spiffy stalking a stalk of lemongrass. *goes thru my comments pages* Hahaha…

    Yeah..especially if there were guys, didn’t matter if they were actually good looking or not! Hehe.. ;o)

  13. Chet Says:

    MIRC is the ancestor of today’s Instant Messengers. Like Grace said, you need to join a chat room, and the names of the chat rooms indicate the topics to be discussed. There are moderators to keep things in line – cuz when you have many people in a chat, and most of them don’t know one another, chances of disagreements are a lot more, plus there are people who join just to disrupt. But that was long ago. Now, chats are more civilised and intimate. Like I said, I use MIRC to download stuff. The things I download are fast, lah, cuz only text, mah, no graphics.

  14. Argus Lou Says:

    Spiff & Chet, thanks for the MIRC explanation. For a second there, it looked like a branch of the MIC, in which M’sian Indians chat in a meet room.

    Lyrical, my bad! Yup, it was Spiffy gracefully stalking your stalk of lemongrass. Here, they call it Zitrongrass – drives me crazy (have to look twice before buying).

  15. gRaCe Says:

    Chet dear,
    Thanks a lot for the detailed explanation. I also don’t really remember much bout it ady. Hahah..

    Argus,
    MIC chatroom..hahaha…yeah, go there to hook up with indian guys. Heheh…;o)

    Zitrongrass!??! Sounds like a relative of one of the robots from Transformers. Hahah..hmm..maybe it’s a relative of Megatron. hmm..


Leave a comment